We are using D8's Configuration Management for our site. When we delete fields in our local development environment the corresponding content type and field yml files are updated to reflect the change. However when we deploy these changes to our production environment, the field is not deleted. It is simply moved to the hidden (Disabled) spot for the content type under manage fields.
As a result we have to manually go in and delete the field in production. How can we delete the fields on production when new configuration files are deployed?